Starting out, Vectorworks advice please.

Kizza

I'm just starting out in my new career as a building designer, I come from a trade background.

I trained on Revit and a little AutoCad.

I personally didn't like the AutoCad way of working.

I'm fairly proficient with Revit but have found the interface can get in the way and I don't want modelling to hinder the design process.

So i'm looking at Vectorworks Architect as a possible option and have downloaded a demo version along with a training manual that I purchased that runs through a project. I'm undertaking this exercise presently in my spare time.

I would be very interested in feedback from experienced users who have used both Revit and Vectorworks and what they've liked and disliked about VW. I actually prefer the Revit way of working with levels rather than layers. Was adjusting to layers much of an issue?

I like the feel of VW's interface, it reminds me of my graphics days when working with Illustrator and Photoshop with the floating toolbars.

I like the WinDoor tool as it allows you to create windows and doors with various features quickly and easily without having to model everything, my concern though is if this tool is too limiting? i.e. can you create your own profiles such as door frames which WinDoor can utilise?

Can VW create pictorial door and window schedules?

Does VW have a "live dimension" feature similar to Revit, making it easy to move various elements such as walls, windows and doors interactively?

Seeing that Revit has changed the interface with 2010 (I used 2009) I expect a learning curve if I purchased Revit 2010. Obviously Vectorworks would also involve a learning curve but seeing that I'm starting out and essentially am choosing a platform for not only now but for the future I'm willing to invest time into training. I also have the advantage of having no history with architectural software such as AutoCad other than my exposure to AutoCad and Revit in my training.