Drafting fabric (2010)

hi, i am a student at Elon university with a problem. Im currently designing a show and i would like to create realistic looking fabric in vectorworks. the actual texturing of the object isn't the problem, i cannot figure out how to make the object.

if anyone can help me i would very much appreciate it.

Thank you,

Ben S.

i think more information would be useful, like a sketch of what you are trying to achieve. Curtains are easy, there are tools that will do that for you, some in Vectorworks and some you can buy http://www.landrudesign.com/DefaultFrameSet.htm?index.htm~LandruMnFrm

of this isn't what you had in mind, then you might find the drape surface does what you want,

Go to the Menu Bar.

Choose Model > 3D Power Pack > Create Drape Surface

for those of you in my user short sharp training (monthly) group, we covered drape surface in epodcast031, march 2007.

Click My Stuff tab at top of this forum window and create a profile with a signature showing your VW version, OS and a bit about your hardware. That all helps with troubleshooting.

You probably want to read VW help about creating and working with NURBS surfaces: NURBS tools, lofts, drape surface, or conversions of other 2d & 3d objects, etc.

Example to make a bulging surface (assuming you have a recent version of VW):

1. Draw a 2d rectangle, give it a fill color and leave it selected.

2. Convert it to a NURBS surface: Menu>Model>3d Power Pack>Create Surface from Curves

3. Activate the 3d reshape tool in the 3d Modeling palette

4. In the OIP (Object Info Palette) click the Move pulldown & select Vertex Only, and check the Show Vertices box near bottom of OIP. You should see a blue handle at each corner.

5. Change the U & V degree fields from 1 to 2. Now your NURBS surface has blue handles at midpoints of each edge, and in the very center. (Degree is number of control point divisions on each edge)

6. Click the arrows in the Edit U &V fields until the center vertex flashes.