Import Autocad Hatches

I am a newbie to Vectorworks.

I have an extensive list of custom hatches that I used in Autocad and now need them in vectorworks.

Is there an easy way of importing and saving them to a hatch library?

I know I can apply a hatch to a shape in autocad and save as .dxf/.dwg, then import into vectorworks. I am allowed to edit/change the hatch and apply to other shapes, but I can't save it so that it is available for other drawings as a library.

Sorry if there is a simple answer, but I now have to paste the shape in photoshop, apply the hatch, then repaste into Vectorworks which is a horrible workflow.

Thanks!

• Like 1

Trying to understand your question, are you attempting to apply the hatch through the resource browser?

If so, you can add any file to the resource browser by clicking the small triangle at the upper right of the resource browser and choosing either Add Current to Favorites if the file is open or Add New Favorite Files... then navigating to the file.

You can also save the file here:

C:\Users\YourUserName\AppData\Roaming\Nemetschek\Vectorworks\2010\Libraries\Favorites

and it will be added to the resource browser.

• 3 months later...

Hello Ray:

attempting to apply the hatch through the resource browser...

I'm still on V11.5. on PC. Could you please tell me how I can take ACad hatch files I found and use them in Vectorworks?

1) Do I need to convert them?

2) what is the path(subdirectories) to store them?

3) what file extension?

Really appreciate your help,

cheers

Sidug

Hatches are contained in Vectorworks files, if you have imported a dwg file you can use the hatches in it. You can copy an object with the hatch from the Autocad file and paste it into your file and the hatch will come with it.

The resources you see in the Resource Browser are contained in files that are favorites, located in the Vectorworks folder in program files. Look in your manual or online help to learn more about the Resource Browser.