Cleaning up elevations: hatch fills

Hi there,

At a recent user group I asked about filling a closed space with a hatch or pattern. Or at least that's what I meant to ask. I got the impression that there was a basic tool I'd missed (I'm still a beginner) and said I'd look it up myself. Hours later with the program and manuals, I'm still clueless.

Here's the full question: I've got an elevation (say): it has lines, windows, annotations, etc. all over it. I would like to "pour" hatch into closed areas, so it "flows" around windows etc. Otherwise, I have to draw a whole lot of potentially complicated shapes: in fact, I don't even know how to hatch a wall that has windows in it, without creating a weird patchwork of tessellated hatched polygons with no fill on their borders, etc. Completely ridiculous. How do you do it? What am I missing here? None of the examples in the manuals seem to reveal it.

Keith

Hmmm. I'm not seeing what you're pointing to. Amongst the promising search results is a thread that points to this:

http://techboard.nemetschek.net/ubbthreads/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=106644

But the thread appears to be broken.

And in another promising thread, there's this link:

http://techboard.nemetschek.net/ubbthreads/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=106644&gonew=1#UNREAD

But the (same?) thread is broken. This stuff needs to go into a FAQ or knowledgebase or something...

It looks like they might throw away links (messages) that are more than 6 years old (according to advanced search). I don't know if that's the problem here.