layer link

Ok---here's a tough one. I have a small project. I want to put both the floor plan and the Ceiling plan on the same sheet. I can do this via a layer link-HOWEVER- The doors show up on the ceiling plan. If I turn the door class off, they turn off in the floor plan as well (obviously). How can I separate the 2 without having to draw 2 completely different plans? There's got to be a way.

Well, assuming your doors arn't placed in the celing layer itself. You may want to make sure that your layers are set up to have different hights. You can set this using the layers... command in the orginaize menu.

Of course, im just learning VW myself, so I may be entirely misconstruing your problem.

quote:

Originally posted by jhutchison:

Ok---here's a tough one. I have a small project. I want to put both the floor plan and the Ceiling plan on the same sheet. I can do this via a layer link-HOWEVER- The doors show up on the ceiling plan. If I turn the door class off, they turn off in the floor plan as well (obviously). How can I separate the 2 without having to draw 2 completely different plans? There's got to be a way.

Thanks. But I don't think that helps. (Unless I am not understanding something). I want to be able to produce a floor plan and an RCP plan right next to each other so I can print them on the same sheet. I can easily create a copy of the walls to generate the ceiling plan via the layer link, but I cannot figure out how to hide the doors on the RCP, while the doors on the floor plan are visible.

It's a little hard for me to understand exactly what's going on here, but it sounds like you've got a layer with your floor plan, and another layer with your ceiling plan, and you want each of these to appear on one sheet next to each other. It also sounds like you're trying to accomplish this with one layer link that includes both layers.