Drawing A Line

Hi, so i was wondering if someone could help me with a question. I'm kinda new to Vectorworks, and i am trying to just draw the outline of a parking lot. I am trying to do this with just the simple line tool, but i prefer to use coordinates when i draw. So i activate the line tool, press tab to see the data bar, and go to type in my coordinates, but as soon as i press a number key, Vectorworks selects a new tool, like all the numbers are keyboard shortcuts. I'm working on a laptop, so i am using the number keys on the main section on the keyboard, and when i trying to hold down my 'function' key and enter numbers with the fake keypad, nothing happens at all. Any help? any way to disable the keyboard shortcuts? Thanks for the help.

From what i can tell i'm doing everything correctly. When i try to use the fake keypad on my laptop, i can type symbols into the coordinate text boxes, like negative and asterisk, but as soon as i try to enter a number, it switches tools...

There are some circumstances where VW takes the number input directly, and others where you have to explicitly tab (or in the case of popping up the data bar with a tab, you have to tab twice).

I ran into this when I first started.

Setting the data bar to popup automatically made things smoother, but it still happens occasionally.

But mainly it's just a matter of transitioning to a new way of working.

I would recommend using polygons over lines, or joining rectangular surfaces, that's just my two cents though.