problems with settings ie scales and dimension styles etc

I am having a few problems regarding my settings. Having set up dimension styles they seem to revert back to a default setting in the middle of a drawing. What is the best way to set everything up to get a standard template for projects for the sake of continuity? I am also having problems with a title block that at the moment i am having to cut and paste. what is the best way to create a reference file with an editable title block that will not be affected by the change of scale of the drawing because at the moment i am having to copy and paste and so it assumes the scale of the design layer.

I am new to vectorworks so any help would be greatly appreciated!

You can put the title block on a sheet layer. If you want to work with design layers only, you could put the title block on a design layer that's at 1:1 scale, and put the drawings on other layers at the appropriate scales.

When you've got the template file the way you want it, use File > Save as Template. When you open it again later, VW will assume it's just a template and that you don't want to change the disk file unless you use Save as Template again. When you try to Save normally, it'll prompt for the new file name.

The Dimension Standard that will be used when creating new dimension objects is the one that's selected in the Dimensions tab of Document Preferences (File > Preferences > Document Preferences). That same tab has an option for creating custom dimension standards and editing any new or existing custom standards (but not the built-in ones). Dimension standards are stored in the drawing file, so you might want to include any that you'll need in your template file. The same is true of hatches. Alternatively, you can import them from another drawing file using the Resource Browser.