VW2008 Not Loading After Several Installs

WLSCMichael

Question

Ok...I recieved my copy of VW2008 for my work in a Scenic Design class at West Liberty State College. I installed the product as I was supposed to and got clear through the install. I restarted my computer and tried to start VW. It started, I entered all my authorization information and tried to start the program, but it wouldn't start. Now, after I've uninstalled and reinstalled several times, I can't even get it to show the authorization screen. The mouse icon changes to the "working" icon, and then disappears. There is no process loaded, or anything to show that the program actually loaded. I'm a decently tech-savvy person, and I'm stumped. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Michael

8 answers to this question

Here is the same story different place.

Today I installed VW2008 Designer for the first time into a fresh install of Windows XP PRO SP2 with all the current updates except for IE7.

During the installation everything went fine and no Event errors were reported on screen or recorded in the computer's Event log. Even the registration went without a hitch.

After the registration completed, I tried to execute the software so it would run, but nothing happens. Really, nothing happens no error messages, sounds or any visible signs of life on the screen appear during any of the attempts to run VW2008.

Not knowing what to think as this type of problem is rare here, I rebooted the computer and tried again. That didn't work so I found the VectorWorks2008.exe file in its install location and tried to run it directly. Same result, nothing.

Opening the Windows Task Manager to show the applications and processes to watch what might be happening, and nothing ever appears in either the processes or applications tab listings when the exe is executed.