Older DesignJet Plotters/printers

MTB

Question

17 answers to this question

And I assume you've tried all of the GIMP drivers? Hint: sometimes you can 'cheat' the GIMP drivers by selecting a similarly designed HP (for example I seem to remember using the 330 driver to drive a 230, or something like that.)

Usually, if you can get your computer and your plotter 'talking' to each other you can fiddle the settings to make it work...

The GIMP drivers for the 455 will provide you a low-level printing result with that printer - it's not fully supported by GIMP.

You'll find objects dropped from plots, jagged lines, does not support quartz imaging, line weights are not printed proportionately, among other issues I've observed.

Thanks Peter, will try this first before spending $300 on x-rip. unfortunately the unit arrived damaged so I have to get a replacement foot which holds the paper spool first before I can try all this stuff. I'm really new at this so don't have a source for parts on these older units either. have found that new ones are available from HP though, at a price of course. Thanks again for you suggestions.

Katie, I read your note. I was just thinking that other users might have had some limited success without spending $400 on x-rip and been half way satisfied. I don't want stuff dropped so may have to consider either buying x-rip or going for a different used printer that is compatible with the current shipping version of VW.

I'd go with a different plotter, personally. The 455 is a dated plotter at this point. It's costly to repair, the built in memory is very limited (you'll end up running out of memory to print VW files over 20 MB and anything with transparency will choke), the inks are expensive, and it's hard to find a repair center that will service that plotter at this point in the game.