customizing door and window schedules

I would like to customize my door and window schedules so that when I create a door/window I can go the the data tab in the window/door settings and plug in the data that I want instead of the default headings, and would also like to customize the actual door/window schedules in a way that it will still recognize the recorded data ie width/height etc...

I can find no mention of how to do this in the VW manuals.

Thanks for any guidance crazy.gif

Robert, Maybe I am doing something wrong here, but I am an architect and not a computer programer, so this script stuff is kind of foreign to me. So I went to the vector script plug in editor and selected door, clicked on the parameters, and clicked on the user field 1 and clicked edit. I put in one of my own parameters. Then when I go to insert a door in a wall with the door tool, I get an error message saying vector script error and it won't let me put a door in. What am I doing wrong? Also, the user fields don't seem to appear in a schedule when I create one, is there something else I should be doing to have those fields show up in a schedule.

Thanks,

Jaseweil confused.gif

Okay, so I changed the ALTERNATE name, not the parameter name, I can use my door tool again, however in the data tab the parameter name comes up (User Field 1) instead of my predefined Alternate name. However, my default value comes up okay. Is there a way to get my defined field name to show up in the data tab instead of User Field 1? Also, that field does not show up when I create my door schedule. Do I need to create a formula in the worksheet to recognize that field in my data tab?

Thanks,

Jaseweil

• Vectorworks, Inc Employee