455CA Print Spool Speed under OS10.4

Kevin

Question

I have been using an HP455CA printer for over seven years. Originally it operated using the supplied HP RIP under OS9. I now use it under OS10.4 with the built-in system print driver utilizing GimpPrint.

The printer has always printed slow under OSX. I recently upgraded my computer to a Dual 2.3 G5 with 2.5 GB of ram. I anticipated that the printing would be faster, but it is not.

It appears that the slow printing is due to two reasons:

1. Slow spooling. The actual printing, or "ripping" takes very little time on the computer. But it takes many minutes for the information to spool.

2. The printer waits for all information to spool before printing.

Under OS9, the printer would print during the spooling process. As a result the printer would print continuously, only waiting while the print dried before cutting. It would print while it was ripping.

Currently it often takes 15 minutes to print one greyscale print. This is a tedious process to run any quantity of prints.

So the question is, does anyone know how to speed up the spooling process? And does anyone know why the printer waits for all spooled info prior to starting to print?

The printer is hooked up to a JetDirect Ex Plus which is connected by Ethernet to a Router and Switch.

5 answers to this question

I too, have been using the HP 455CA with OS X and VWA 11.5.1. You are right. On average, the plots take about 10 minutes. I havve not found a way to speed it up at all.

This may seem obvious, but the reasons I have figured that it takes so long is that a) your computer is doing the processing since the 455CA is not a Postscript printer, and b) there is not much of a memory buffer built into the plotter.