plotting problems VW 10, OS X.2.4, hp 330

hmd3

Question

I am an architect who has been trying to switch over to VW 10/OS X 2.4 from VW 8.5/OS 9.2 for many months now and I can't yet plot from the ethernet network. I have two G4s on the network, one with old stuff, one with new. They connect to a HP jetdirect 500x print server through a linksys 10/100 switch. I have a HP 330 plotter and and HP cp1700 printer connected to the server. My old software worked flawlessly since 1997 using PowerPlot.

I wanted to try Gimp Print, but my plotter is not listed as supported and I don't understand IP addressing. I spent the money for MacroEnter X-rip and the first version (that actually plotted by way of os9 emulation) was worthless and non-functional. With the new version I've been able to plot, but only if I pull the plotter off the network and use a unidirectional USB to parallel cable. I've been told by MacroEnter that I need to switch to IP addressing for my network, but my print server can't be configured under Mac OS. I bought a windows box just to configure the server and then IT guy I hired to help me said I need to hook up everthing by USB. Then my 1700 printer stopped showing up on the network too. So now I've got both the printer and plotter functioning by USB direct to the G4 with OS X, but no network. Do I need a new plotter? A new print server ? A new profession?

An "expert" told me that I could use a HP 300x server and that that was configurable under OS X. HP tech Support has no idea. They think that I should use a USB print server (310X) and attach a USB to parallel converter. Kevin mentioned on this forum that his router assigns addresses under DHCP. If I use a router instead of a switch would I not have to worry about addressing my print server? It has no address now under DHCP.