Developer Wiki and Function Reference Links ×

How to loop/repeat nodes across multiple objects properly?

ASag

Hello All,

I’m still new to Marionette, but I’m trying to automate parts of our team's workflow. I’ve built multiple marionette networks that work perfectly for a single object, but the problem is that I need them to work across multiple/variable numbers of objects. The moment I try introducing multiple starting objects, I fall flat on my face.

I have multiple examples I could post, but if someone can point me in a direction with 1 of them, that will allow me to understand the proper way to do it for my other ones.

The attached file (2022 File) is basically a copy + paste of an example I found on another thread here weeks ago, but it is part of what we do in our workflow. I need to take polygons that we created and break them into individual lines. I realize this is easy to do with a menu command (convert to lines), but it is a small part of a bigger network we are trying to make.

In the attached marionette, I have 4 polygons and the script only works properly on 1 of them (the most recently made one). Looking at the code/debug, I think I understand the fundamental issue, but I have been unable to figure out how to actually make it work properly...

If someone could directionally point me on how to solve this, I think it would answer a lot of other nodes where I am currently stuck on similar issues.

Screenshot 2023-06-02 at 9.46.05 AM.png

ScriptExample2022.vwx

Hello,

sometimes it can be tricky to manage lists in Marionette networks. Fortunately in this case its an easy fix.

Here is how the network could look like:

grafik.thumb.png.a5ba228eb70d49d6aef52fda55c01cee.png

First of all there was an error in your network. The "Sequence" node generated one index too much, so i replaced it with the "Series" node.

Apart from that you have to manage the inputs of the "Get 2D Edge" node to make this network run correctly.