Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'preferences'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Announcements
    • Announcements
    • News You Need
    • Job Board
  • Feedback
    • Wishlist - Feature and Content Requests
    • Known Issues
    • Wishes Granted / Issues Resolved
  • General
    • Troubleshooting
    • General Discussion
    • Architecture
    • Site Design
    • Entertainment
    • Vision and Previsualization
    • Braceworks
    • ConnectCAD
    • Rendering
    • Workflows
    • Buying and Selling Vectorworks Licenses
    • Hardware
  • Customization
    • Marionette
    • Vectorscript
    • Python Scripting
    • SDK
    • 3rd Party Services, Products and Events
  • Solids Modeling and 3D Printing
    • Subdivision
    • Solids Modeling
    • 3D Printing
  • Vectorworks in Action
  • Archive
    • Resource Sharing
    • Machine Design

Categories

  • Knowledgebase
    • Tech Bulletins
    • Troubleshooting
    • Workflows
    • How To
    • FAQs

Categories

  • Marionette - Objects
  • Marionette - Networks
  • Marionette - Nodes
  • Marionette - Menu Commands

Product Groups

There are no results to display.


Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


About Me


Occupation


Homepage


Hobbies


Location


Skype

Found 4 results

  1. When a new version of Vectorworks arrives on my computer, even before I get too far into its new or enhanced features, I dive into the Vectorworks Preferences. These preferences control a number of aspects that make my Vectorworks installation work for me and feel like it’s my design workshop, no matter what file I’m working in. (If you’re wondering if I ever simply want to import my preferences from the previous version to the new version, I typically don’t. I like having a hands-on approach here and it really takes very little time to do.) First, I revisit the Vectorworks Preferences that I am quite familiar with and adjust some of my “old favourites” (listed below). When doing so, I always give them a second thought, ensuring that I truly do want to set them as I am. Workflows can evolve and change over time, so I want to make sure that my Vectorworks Preferences are set the best way possible for the way I work now, not just for how I decided they should be set many years ago. Next, I like to see what preferences have been added in the new version of Vectorworks. As vital as it may seem to set certain longtime prefs to my liking, it is actually this second step that is far more important – often a new preference will reveal aspects of a larger new feature that has been introduced. And it is the mindset of being open to new features and new ways of working that will help improve one’s design practice. I have found that this is an incredibly important approach to have as the digital tools of our practice evolve. So with that said, I wanted to share a list of the Vectorworks Preferences I adjust –and why I adjust them– so that you can get a better sense of perhaps how you too can take control of your Vectorworks experience. Edit > Offset Duplications = Unchecked Why I adjust this pref: Even though duplicating an object can replicate the last distance & direction I moved an object by Option-Drag (Ctrl-Drag on Win), I like my duplicated objects to “stay put” until I do something with them. Edit > Arrow Keys > Pan > Disabled Why I adjust this pref: The ways that one can change the view of their design have evolved so much over the years that I never find I never want to navigate this way... plus I don’t want to press an arrow key by accident and chance my view, thereby disrupting my train of thought. Session > Create new Document on Startup = Unchecked Why I adjust this pref: I rarely need a brand new, blank document available at my fingertips the moment I fire up Vectorworks. I’m usually working on an existing file, so I prefer to save myself the time of having to close the newly created document. Session > Display Classes in pop-up menus hierarchically = Unchecked Why I adjust this pref: This is very much just a personal preference, but I like seeing the entire Class name on one line, both in the pop-up menus and in the Navigation Palette and Organization dialog window (so I switch off hierarchical view there too.) Session > Maximum number of Undos > 42 Why I adjust this pref: I like to experiment and sometimes I need to “back out” of what I’m doing a lot. Plus, if it can be the answer to life, the universe, and everything, it must be a good number of undo’s. 3D > Render mode... > OpenGL Why I adjust this pref: I like my solids looking solid in 3D, the moment I switch from Top/Plan to a 3D view. 3D > View... > Normal Perspective Why I adjust this pref: The view looks more realistic than the default orthogonal view. Autosave = NN Operations, custom single location Why I adjust this pref: I find that having the autosave interval set to “operations” (no matter how many it is) rather than “minutes” means that Vectorworks will wait until I complete my action before saving, instead of potential saving while I am mid-action. I opt for a single backup location of my choosing in order to keep each of my project folders as “light” as possible; I have only a single backup folder that I need to manage and clean out when I tidy up old backups. Interactive > Interactive Appearance Settings… Object Highlighting-Pre-selection-Active Layer = Green Why I adjust this pref: I find it useful to differentiate between what I am about to select versus what I currently have selected. That’s my list. I’ve found it only takes about a minute to set all of those prefs to my liking. Now, I’m not saying that you should change your Vectorworks Preferences to match mine. What I do recommend, however, is that whether you are a new or a long-time user, you take some time to look through yours and fine-tune Vectorworks to work for you. If you have a Vectorworks Preference that you adjust for a particular reason, perhaps share below which preference it is and how & why you adjust it.
  2. If your experiencing objects disappearing it maybe due to the Navigation Graphics setting under preferences. See attached screen recording of the effects between - Best Performance - Good Performance and compatibility - Best compatibility Navigation Graphics.mov
  3. This is a wish for an override for imported plane attributes to match the preferences of the main file: main file document preferences set up to 'screen plane only' - (or whichever) import the selected items from other file into main file vwx detects that 'objects being imported into current file have plane different to document preferences' question then is asked - 'would you like to change their plane to match current preferences?' - select yes or no, imported object planes are amended BOOM! - No more imported objects in different planes This would have to include groups, symbols, lines, poylines etc Don't see how this is any different from when you import textures or symbols that are the same - it always comes up with a warning symbol like the above. Thanks
  4. Please tell me I am being stupid, but I am getting sick and tired of having to remember to basically reinstall my entire system every time there is a service pack upgrade. Examples: Title borders - I do not use VW title borders, I have my own. I would very much like to have the whole office use the same file so that we are all on the same version every time. But in order to do that I have to make sure there is a copy of the title borders in each person's user directory. After the last service pack update I have now lost total access to my title blocks - I have to open up an old drawings and copy them over in the resource manager - Not very efficient workflow. I do recall reading in the Techboard that there is a way to update resources. I am not a computer engineer, I have looked and looked for it, but I cannot find it so I am stuck. Can VW not be directed to a network folder to access company resources and have local files removed? I have tried over many years to do this, but for some reason everything defaults to local files and each time you install a service pack - it writes locally and does not allow the resources to be networked.

 

7150 Riverwood Drive, Columbia, Maryland 21046, USA   |   Contact Us:   410-290-5114

 

© 2018 Vectorworks, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Vectorworks, Inc. is part of the Nemetschek Group.

×
×
  • Create New...