Jump to content

bpbpbp

Member
  • Content Count

    11
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

1 Neutral

About bpbpbp

  • Rank
    Greenhorn

Personal Information

  • Location
    Germany

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Hi, We run our VW License Server software on a Windows 10 VM, hosted on an OSX Mac Mini with USB License Dongle attached. If the WINDOWS VM crashes, or the OSX mac, everything comes back up ok or via remote assistance, except for the USB dongle. It is not recognised until it is removed and re-inserted manually. This requires physical presence in the Server Room. #1 - Does anyone also see this issue on a native Windows PC? If not, I will look into installing Windows 10 on the Mac Mini or another small PC. #2 - Does anyone know a way to remotely 'reseat' a USB dongle?! Thanks! Benjamin
  2. bpbpbp

    Unable to Borrow VW2018 SP6 License?

    A clean install of OSX High Sierra fixed it!
  3. We have a fresh install of VW2018 SP6 on Mac OSX High Sierra. It is no different to other computers in our company that can borrow licenses ok. This one, unfortunately, gives an error message when trying to borrow a license - whilst connected directly/locally to our office internal network (same subnet as license server): 'Can't acquire a license from the server for the following modules: Fundamentals, Architect, Renderworks. Your server doesn't support these modules for this copy of Vectoworks or all licenses are in use'. We have plenty free licenses available. An identical device can borrow a license no problem at all. Same internal license server, same VW serial, etc. The user profile is an administrator of the laptop. Another local user account also gets the same error. I'm stumped!
  4. Thanks Nicolas! I added the missing article link. I think then, it is a Vectorworks-only feature, that co-incidentally shares the same name as a Windows Workgroup feature. I will try to raise the issue with VW Support.
  5. Hi! We have a mixed Mac & PC environment, and all machines share the same Synology Server folder lcoations for each project. When references are made on a Mac, the format is not recognisable on a PC (see attached screenshot) and vice versa. Therefore references are broken. Is there a know solution to this? I found this article regarding 'Workgroups' but the text is ambiguous; is it referring to the Windows Networking concept of a workgroup (as opposed to a domain) or is it a VW-only feature? http://app-help.vectorworks.net/2017/eng/VW2017_Guide/Workgroup/Workgroups_and_Referencing.htm I am not sure it will resolve the issue in any case. Thanks!
  6. Thanks Jim! Our supplier say we can have an extra set of license for VW2019 and run them parallel with VW2018 on our internal license server, for 3 months FOC.
  7. Is anyone running VW2018 & VW2019 on the same High Sierra Mac computer? Any issues to note? Some of our staff want this dual install whilst they learn VW2019. I advised them to be careful with file versioning in relation to colleagues only running VW2018. Other than that, I see no reason to oppose this idea.
  8. bpbpbp

    macOS Mojave (10.14) Compatibility

    In the article you link to, Jim from VW says "closed - the discussion has been moved...' here! So we are in a loop if we follow your link Neil.
  9. Hi, This is my first post here. We have a network license for a number of Macs running latest release OSX High Sierra and VectorWorks 2018 SP4. Two users have a similar issue that I have verified. They open a network VW file (Synology NAS with Open Directory authentication) from Finder and work in it. They then save it with the Save/Close dialogue on exit, or command+S, and report that to me that the changes are not saved. What is actually happening, is that the documents are being saved to a local folder on their desktop - one that they have used previously, to save docs in a number of different applications, but not VW. To reproduce the issue, I opened an example network VW file, and selected File > Save As... It showed the correct network folder that I opened it from. But when I closed the file and chose Save, it actually saved it to the same local folder as previously reported. The workaround solution at present is for all users to select 'Save As'. I'm keen to know if anyone has experienced anything similar? Thanks, Benjamin

 

7150 Riverwood Drive, Columbia, Maryland 21046, USA   |   Contact Us:   410-290-5114

 

© 2018 Vectorworks, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Vectorworks, Inc. is part of the Nemetschek Group.

×