Cory Pattak

Member
  • Content count

    85
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

15 Good

About Cory Pattak

  • Rank
    Apprentice
  1. This has been happening to me too. I notice when it happens it's not just a display issue. If I open my classes...literally all the fills have been set to black. I usually have to close and re-open the file a couple times and eventually it rights itself. Though not always...which is worrisome. For the record, this is happening in my blank template file that has no DWG imports or any outside data from any other user. Has this happened to you at all since you originally posted?
  2. seconding the wish to show a duel dimension in the tape measure bar. I'm working in South America right now and it would be very useful. I have to keep making dummy dimensions to see both the imperial and metric measurements of things.
  3. thanks everyone. makes sense...well in the logic of Vision it makes sense. Still incredibly cumbersome when looked at in context of general ease of use. And just to confirm, I can really only use the "Send to Vision" command the first time I make the Vision file correct? After that point, I need to be exporting from VW and merging into Vision? C
  4. Let's say I have a VW file with 10 lights on a pipe over a stage. I "Send to Vision" and now I have a Vision file. I make some changes to the settings in that Vision file, adjust ambience, focus the lights, etc. so now I don't want to lose that file or I'd have to adjust all those settings all over again. But then I decide I want to add 5 more lights on that pipe and change some of the existing fixtures to a different type. How exactly do I do that? I believe that is where I'm supposed to use the Merge command? So I go back to my VW file, add the additional lights, make the fixture type adjustment, export to .esc and then merge into Vision. The new fixtures come in, but so does everything else. Now I have two versions of the stage, two versions of the pipe, and duplicates of the lights that were already there. Back in VW, am I supposed to hide or delete anything that isn't new before I export to avoid duplicates? VW won't let me just export the lights, I get an error window saying I need at least one piece of 3D geometry that isn't the lights, so now I need to export my new lights and some random piece of 3D geometry that I will just delete in Vision? What about changing the fixture type of the existing lights? If I've already added color, focused them, etc. in Vision, is there no way to update the fixture type? Do I need to delete the old lights and re-merge in the new kind of fixture type and then re-apply the settings and re-focus them? If anyone can clear this all up it would be much appreciated. thanks! Cory
  5. false alarm. I seem to have sussed out the problem. It was an issue of being unclear to what I could and couldn't do without a dongle. Cory
  6. Jim, i want to run Vision 2017 and ETC Nomad, on the same Mac computer. Does the above explain how to do that? I can't quite parse it out. Do I need a loopback adaptor? I swear I was able to make it all work on Vision 4 while back without downloading anything special but now I can't figure it out. Can you explain (or point me to an article) how I can run both programs on the same Mac? thanks, Cory
  7. well at least I don't feel so crazy now that you also acknowledge the issue. Still no good solution though. Hopefully someday.
  8. Hey Mike...naw these are not just temporary. This are permanent Saved Views that are used in every one of my drawings. That's why they are pre-built with certain class and layer visibility settings.
  9. new to the board...forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong thread. This Saved View Issues has plagued me for years. I don't think there is a solution but it hasn't stopped me from asking anyone who will listen. I have lots of Saved Views pre-made in my temp file. (1. Plan, 2. Section 3. FOH 4. Sidelight, etc.) In those views...I have the screen location and zoom fairly close to probably how I need it and have pre-set class and layers visabilities based on the view. With each new file, as the drawing comes together...I update elements of those saves views as the drawing requires. The problem is that I have many saved views where some of the layers/classes are set to "Ignore" (the red circle with a slash) Ignore" is not an actual state, a class can't sit in an "Ignore" state, it simply means "leave this alone when recalling the view." Now imagine you turn some of those ignored layers/classes on or off, as if you were in the middle of your workflow, and adjust the zoom/pan, etc. and attempt to "Redefine" the Saved View.You now have a problem. If you uncheck Layer Visibility and/or Class Visibility those parameters will now be completely removed from the Saved View (Active class, etc. becomes greyed out in the visibility settings.) If you leave them checked, the current Class/Layer setting (either on/off/grey) will OVERWRITE any class/layers you had set to be ignored. There is in fact no way to update the Saved View without breaking classes/layers that were set to ignore.In my opinion, unchecking a parameter in the "Redefine" window should not REMOVE those settings from the Saved View but simply leave them untouched in this current action. My terrible workaround is that I keep a separate list of how I like the visibility settings for layers and classes in various saved views. (because it's too many to remember.) Any time I Redefine a View (mainly to update the zoom/pan) I then I have to go into visibility settings and re-set the settings to how I want them based on my list. It is very annoying and tedious. Does anyone follow what I'm describing and does anyone have a workaround? help! thanks. Cory