Jump to content

Rick Berge

Vectorworks, Inc Employee
  • Content Count

    467
  • Joined

Community Reputation

67 Excellent

1 Follower

About Rick Berge

  • Rank
    Journeyman

Personal Information

  • Location
    United States

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Thanks for finding this. We found the problem and fixed it for the fall release.
  2. I think that is one thing accidentally lost in the change from a live Summit to this year's individual collection of video presentations. It was easier this year to look at a few frames in a collection of videos and for both speaker and listener to gloss over a phrase of "in the future" in any of them. Versus the usual Design Summit with more time allocated to a single "roadmap" session, where each speaker had a longer introduction and the whole is set in its context. We're always excited to share these details with you and see how our planning is received, and it was just as important to do a different kind of "first" and find some way to bring this to you with all the other crazy that's going on in the world today. Thank you all for the feedback that you like what we're trying to do.
  3. As a workaround, it looks like it will still take the fill (and/or texture) from the class. It's only the Attribute Palette getting in the way. SP2 beta that I tried seems fixed with the Can Top example.
  4. As a workaround, it looks like it will still take the fill from the class. It's only the Attribute Palette getting in the way.
  5. Wish delivered in 2020! If a particular visualization scheme does not apply to an object, "Draw all other objects: Normally" will now fall back to whatever the viewport wants, class overrides included.
  6. One question here is if it is ever appropriate to show the old view. E.g. you have autosaves triggering after 10th action, and you happen to be zoomed in on some little thing. Or whatever. Thanks for the feedback!
  7. If it makes you feel better, I don't quite understand it either. I think it may be temporarily strange until the tech that was developed for the live section views can be implimented outside that one editing mode, which we do plan to do. Think of it this way...we can do the fake mode directly in the VGM specifically for the cases we wanted (edit section), or we can spend a lot of time making an official new render mode that shows up in all menus everywhere, viewports, save/restore view, gets stored with the file, reverse translation to older files, on and on. We talked about making it a new mode but simply didn't have the time for all the extra work.
  8. Is this not the same as the 'Export PDF' options to 'Rasterize'?
  9. It is not possible to migrate Working Files, only Project FIles. It needs to be a project-wide decision to migrate from 2017 to 2018. All 2017 work needs to be committed from all working files, ideally with Commit and Release so nothing is outstanding. Then the Project File should be migrated to 2018. Afterwords all users should create new 2018 Working Files. If a user opens a 2017 Working File with 2018, Vectorworks will ask to save a copy as a new ordinary 2018 VWX file. The original 2017 Working File is left alone. If a user opens a 2017 Project File with 2018 (as if you were trying to create a new WF), Vectorworks will alert that the project must be migrated. Migrating will move the original PF into an "Old Version Vectorworks Files" folder, and create a new 2018 PF with the original filename in the original location. That new PF will have nothing checked-out...any outstanding stuff is thrown away. If a user opens any 2018 file in 2017, Vectorworks will complain that it is an unrecognized file. In order to migrate a 2018 Project File back to 2017, you need to open one 2018 Working File, and Export As a 2017 VWX file. Then open that withVectorworks 2017 and convert it back to a 2017 Project File. We need more information about the specific problems and alerts you are seeing. Sending us copies of the PF and Working Files involved can help. Also, how many people are involved and how many are Admins. If an Admin has released things, recovery depends on what else has happened. If those items haven't been changed, perhaps they can just be checked out again in the same file, and then committed. Recovery is somewhat painful if someone else already checked them out and committed changes to those items. To avoid losing work, the original user needs to essentially create a new Working File, check the items out, and copy/paste from the old file anything that needs to be recovered or merged.
  10. By analogy you can put text in a Word document, or text in a PDF; the person you hand it to needs to know what file type they're getting to know whether they can handle it. Essentially UTF8 starts with one byte for an ordinary character (so is somewhat compatible with ascii) and it grows to 2, 3, or 4 bytes as needed to fit a specific extended char. UTF16 starts with 2 bytes and doesn't ever pretend to be ascii. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unicode#UTF
  11. Unicode is the ability, UTF-* is the format of the bits and bytes to make it happen. No real difference in what they can hold, only in how it is represented internally.
  12. Hi Hassan, It is not just the user that owns a layer, but also the Working File (.vwxw) you were using when you did the checkout. This looks to me like you are using a different .vwxw file now than you were before. If you plan to discard a Working File, you should be sure to Commit and Release everything in it. If you work with two Working Files at the same time, in each file you will only be able to work with the items you check out in that file. If your original file that owns this Line on the C-Cellar layer is gone, you will need to get an Admin to do a release of everything that you owned in that file. Hope this helps.
  13. If you were on the same local network, Dropbox has a "LAN sync" option that allows some peer-to-peer syncing instead of waiting for a changed file to go all the way out to the DB server and back again. But, you said you're not. My belief (with no testing to back it up ) all 4 supported services are going to be about the same. There are some benchmarks out there, but they probably won't match your real-life experiences. Vectorworks re-writes the entire file every time you do a save (or commit), so it's the full file transfer cost every time.
  14. Yes there is overlap in capabilities, but they're also built around different workflows. I can't really answer about future plans...I'm still focused on this years release!

 

7150 Riverwood Drive, Columbia, Maryland 21046, USA   |   Contact Us:   410-290-5114

 

© 2018 Vectorworks, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Vectorworks, Inc. is part of the Nemetschek Group.

×
×
  • Create New...