Jump to content
  • Sign in to follow this  

    Replacing Corrupt Workspaces


    PVA - Jim

    Symptoms of a corrupt workspace:

     

    1) Issues only occurring in one specific workspace, but not occurring in others.

    2) Issues with specific tools that are not corrected by resetting the tool itself.

    3) If Vectorworks crashes at the precise moment the toolsets should be loading.

    4) If a QuickTime error is reported (Windows) and QuickTime has been verified as working.


    In the "Workspaces" folder, there may be backup folders named thusly:

    1) Originals

    2) Backup(#)

    3) Legacy (if the workspace was converted from an older version of Vectorworks)


    Inside these folders are the saved backup copies of workspaces. Reverting back to these requires only copying the workspace out of this folder and placing it in the main Workspaces directory. If one of these folders is not available, workspaces can be sent out by Technical Support staff.

     

     

    Mac

     

    2010 and later Workspaces

    HD:Users:(Username):Library:ApplicationSupport:Vectorworks:201X:Workspaces

     

    Deleting these workspaces will cause Vectorworks 201X to automatically load a fresh copy from the backups in HD:Applications:Vectorworks 201X. Workspaces will ONLY be saved to this location in 201X if changes have been made to workspace. If no customization was done, you need to delete and replace the workspaces in HD:Applications:Vectorworks 201X

     

    2009 Workspaces

    HD:Users:(Username):Library:Application Support:Vectorworks:2009:Workspaces

     

    Deleting these workspaces will cause Vectorworks 2009 to automatically load a fresh copy from the backups in HD:Applications:Vectorworks 2009. Workspaces will ONLY be saved to this location in 2009 if changes have been made to workspace. If no customization was done, you need to delete and replace the workspaces in HD:Applications:Vectorworks 2009

     

    2008 Workspaces

    HD:Users:(Username):Library:Application Support:VectorWorks:2008:Workspaces

     

    Any workspace that is accessed in 2008 will first place a copy of that workspace here, and any modifications to that workspace will be performed on the copy in this location, not the workspaces in the HD:Applications:VectorWorks 2008 directory.

     

    12 Workspaces

    HD:Applications:VectorWorks 12.X.X

     

    The workspaces in this folder are modificed by VectorWorks 12 directly. There should be a "Originals" or "Backup #" folder in this directory as well. Delete the workspaces in the root "Workspaces" folder then replace them with the workspaces from one of these backup folders. There will be a file in here called "Workspace Changes", delete this as well.

     

     

    Windows

     

    2010 and later Workspaces

    HD:Users:(Username):Library:Application Support:Vectorworks:201X:Workspaces

     

    Deleting these workspaces will cause Vectorworks 201X to automatically load a fresh copy from the backups in HD:Applications:Vectorworks 201X. Workspaces will ONLY be saved to this location in 201X if changes have been made to workspace. If no customization was done, you need to delete and replace the workspaces in HD:Applications:Vectorworks 201X

     

    2009 Workspaces

    Vista: C:\Users\(Username)\App Data\Roaming\Nemetschek\Vectorworks\2009\Workspaces

    XP: C:\Documents and Settings\(Username)\Application Data\Nemetschek\Vectorworks\2009\Workspaces

     

    Deleting these workspaces will cause Vectorworks 2009 to automatically load a fresh copy from the backups in C:\Program Files\Vectorworks 2009. Workspaces will ONLY be saved to this location in 2009 if changes have been made to workspace. If no customization was done, you need to delete and replace the workspaces in C:\Program Files\Vectorworks 2009

     

    2008 Workspaces

    Vista: C:\Users\(Username)\App Data\Roaming\Nemetschek\VectorWorks\2008\Workspaces

    XP: C:\Documents and Settings\(Username)\Application Data\Nemetschek\VectorWorks\2008\Workspaces

     

    Any workspace that is accessed in 2008 will first place a copy of that workspace here, and any modifications to that workspace will be performed on the copy in this location, not the workspaces in the C:\Program Files\VectorWorks 2008 directory.

     

    12 Workspaces

    C:\Program Files\VectorWorks 12.X.X

     

    The workspaces in this folder are modificed by VectorWorks 12 directly. There should be a "Originals" or "Backup #" folder in this directory as well. Delete the workspace files in C:\Program Files\VectorWorks 12.X.X\Workspaces then replace them with the workspaces from one of these backup folders. There will be a file in here called "Workspace Changes", delete this as well.

    Edited by JimW



      Report Article
    Sign in to follow this  


    User Feedback


    There are no comments to display.



    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now

 

7150 Riverwood Drive, Columbia, Maryland 21046, USA   |   Contact Us:   410-290-5114

 

© 2018 Vectorworks, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Vectorworks, Inc. is part of the Nemetschek Group.

×